Yuvraj, Harbhajan eyeing to prove themselves again ahead of IPL auctions


[caption id="attachment_61903" align="aligncenter" width="580"]Bhajji and Yuvi Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh    courtesy: xtratime[/caption]

Kolkata: Veteran cricketers like Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and the other junior cricketers will try to prove themselves again ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction, in the knockout stages of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament which is set to start from Sunday in Kolkata. All the franchises will scout the players from this tournament and it would be a platform for them to show their talents.

The IPL franchises requested the BCCI to organize the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 and the T20 Zonal league as they wanted to look at the performances of the local young players ahead of the IPL auction, which is set to take place in Bengaluru on january 27 and 28.

The final of the Mushtaq Ali T20 will be played on January 27 and all other games would have been ended before the auction which will give ample time to the scouts to spot their picks.

So much so that keeping in mind the auctions, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) reverted to the inter-state knock-out format for the Mushtaq Ali tourney.

During the previous edition, the knock-out leg saw five zones -- North, South, East, West and Central compete on a round robin basis. It meant that zonal teams had partial representation of players from each state.

Among the veterans, India's World Cup winners Gautam Gambhir (Delhi), Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh (Punjab) will have a point to prove after their respective IPL franchises chose not to retain them.

Especially Kolkata Knight Riders' IPL winning captain Gambhir whose non-retention turned heads. Suresh Raina (Uttar Pradesh), who was retained by Chennai Super Kings, will also look to get back among runs ahead of the cash-rich league.

Among the younger brigade, big-hitting Delhi wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who grabbed headlines by smashing a 32-ball century against Himachal Pradesh, will look to continue his superb form with the bat.

Pant became the second fastest century scorer in T20 world cricket after destructive Chris Gayle, is the highest scorer in the competition so far amassing 278 runs in five matches.

Karnataka's Karun Nair (236 runs in 5 games) and Bengal's Sreevats Goswami (232 runs in 4 games) have done well with the bat thus far.

In all, 10 teams will be playing in the knock-outs and will be divided into two groups of five teams each. Among those who have made the cut, only 2010-11 champions Bengal (East Zone) and 2013-14 winners Baroda (West Zone) have not lost a single match en route to the knockouts.

On Sunday, Punjab will play Karnataka while followed by Jharkhand versus Mumbai at the Jadavpur University campus ground, while Delhi will take on Tamil Nadu and Bengal will lock horns with Baroda at the Eden Gardens.

The Punjab team sweated it out on Saturday with star attractions Yuvraj and Harbhajan in full swing at the nets. Yuvraj, who arrived this morning and headed straight to practice from the airport.

The matches will be played at the Eden Gardens and Jadavpur University campus ground.

Group A: Punjab, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Mumbai, Rajasthan

Group B: Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Bengal, Baroda, Uttar Pradesh

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.