Asia Cup Hockey: India creates history after winning title after 10 long years


Internet Desk: India comfortably held on to a 2-1 win against Malaysia to end a decade of wait as they were crowned as the champions of  Asia Cup Hockey Championship. This also happens to be India's third title victory in the history of this tournament.

India won the championship previously at Chennai in 2007. Today India opened their score in the 3rd minute of the game owing to a field goal from Ramandeep Singh. While the second goal was scored in the 29th minute by Lalit Upadhyay.

The ever-improving Malaysians, however, fought valiantly and didn't give up for a single minute. Their efforts bore fruit in the 50th minute when Shahril Saabah pulled one goal back.

The Indians, ranked sixth in the world, were in for nervous last 10 minutes as Malaysia went full throttle for an equaliser.

But the Indian defence were equal to the task and did well enough to hold onto their slender lead.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.