Azharuddin Mullick

CFL 2017: An eventful Kolkata Derby, unstoppable East Bengal wins the title for the 8th time on a row

[caption id="attachment_54531" align="aligncenter" width="580"]East Bengal wins the CFL for the 8th time File Pic East Bengal wins the CFL for the 8th time
File Pic[/caption]

Kolkata: East Bengal extended their winning run yet again when they won the Calcutta Football League (CFL) for a record 8 times and that too by being undefeated. The Red and Gold brigade needed just a draw to win the league as they had a greater goal difference than their arch rivals Mohun Bagan.

Both the teams finished with same points and ended the game 2-2 owing to a brilliant goals from Azharuddin, Kromah, Mahmoud Al Amna and Laldhanmaiya Ralte.

The early lead was taken by Mohun Bagan when young Azharuddin Mullick put the ball at the back of the net in the 4th minute. Azhar then missed a spectacular volley in the 7th minute. Attacks after attacks went in vain as the Mariners failed to extend their lead.

However the happiness was short lived for the Green and Maroon brigade when Ralte equalised for his side in the 43rd minute as both the teams went to half time at 1-1.

The second half saw a rejuvenated Bagan side when Kromah scored from the Penalty in the 50th minute to instill the lead for the Mariners.

East Bengal showed great character to make it 2-2 from the spot as Al Amna made no mistake. It was Laldanmawia who was fouled inside the box by Raynier Fernandez and East Bengal got the the lifeline they wanted.

Bagan captain Kingshuk Debnath’s second yellow card, resulting in a red, in the 84th minute generated some ugly moments as his fellow colleagues protested heavily against referee Ranjit Bakshi’s decision.

Minutes later East Bengal was also reduced to 10 men for an identical offence by Surabuddin Mallick.

Amidst heated exchanges between players of both sides, East Bengal avoided claimed its 39th title.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.