When will the women's IPL begin

[caption id="attachment_65269" align="aligncenter" width="580"] Women IPL can start in next three years[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will look to launch a women’s version of Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament in next three years, as a senior officer said it on Tuesday.

International women players will take part in a T20 game next week at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

“We are planning to get a women’s IPL in place in two to three years,” Board of Control for Cricket in India administrator Vinod Rai said.

BCCI yet to reveal the details of the new league. The pressure was building after India reached the final of the women’s World Cup in England last year.

England’s Danni Wyatt, Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry and New Zealand captain Suzie Bates are some of the names confirmed for the May 22 exhibition game.

Top Indians including national skipper Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami and Harmanpreet Kaur will compete in an Indian team under IPL rules in the exhibition.

“The match to be played between a BCCI XI and IPL XI will take place ahead of the first (men’s IPL) playoff at the Wankhede Stadium,” Rai said.

Also signed up are wicketkeeper-batter Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney from Australia, and Kiwi batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for the fastest half-century in women’s T20Is.

IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla said: “Even as the IPL continues to roll like a well-oiled machine, over the last couple of week’s efforts were made to put in place a similar structure for women cricketers.

“We were in talks with several boards and I am pleased with the outcome.”

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.