Virat Kohli bags International Cricketer of the Year at CEAT Awards

[caption id="attachment_67676" align="aligncenter" width="580"] Image Source: CEAT Tyres[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Indian captain Virat Kohli added another feather in his cap as he was awarded the prestigious International Cricketer of the Year award at a glittering ceremony in Mumbai on Monday. The 29-year-old Kohli had a memorable last season with the bat.

India batsman Rohit Sharma collected the award on behalf of Kohli as he was not present.

Former India wicketkeeper Farokh Engineer was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

[caption id="attachment_67677" align="aligncenter" width="580"] Image Source: CEAT Tyres[/caption]

India opener Shikhar Dhawan bagged the award for the International Batsman of the Year, while New Zealand pace sensation Trent Boult won the International Bowler of the Year Award.

Afghanistan's leg-spinner Rashid Khan, who impressed everyone with his skills in the recently concluded Indian Premier League grabbing 21 wickets, was presented with the T20 Bowler of the Year Award.

New Zealand's swashbuckling opening batsman Colin Munro won the T20 Batsman of the Year Award.

Indian women cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur, who single-handedly took the women's team to the final of the ICC Women's World Cup with her breath-taking knock of 171 not out against Australia in the semi-final, won the Outstanding Innings of the Year Award.

Mayank Agarwal, who had a dream domestic season with the bat for Karnataka, was given the Domestic Player of the Year Award.

Eighteen-year-old Shubhman Gill, who made his mark in the U19 World Cup in Australia and the IPL while playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders, was the U19 Player of the Year.

Former Australian all-rounder and Sunrisers Hyderabad coach Tom Moody praised Gill saying he understands the game and had game awareness.

Swashbuckling West Indian batsman Chris Gayle was presented with the Popular Choice Award.


About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.