IPL 2018: Virat Kohli launches another incredible record in his IPL career

XtraTime Web Desk: Virat Kohli and new records are quite synonymous these days. On Monday, the Royal Challengers Bangalore captain creates another record in his IPL career.

Before the start of the current season, Kohli and Australian star David Warner led this particular chart, having crossed the 500-run mark four times each in their respective IPL careers. The other players in this illustrious list — behind the swashbuckling duo — are Suresh Raina, Chris Gayle and Gaumtam Gambhir, who all have crossed this mark thrice in the cash-rich league.

Virat Kohli: 5 times

David Warner: 4

Suresh Raina: 3

Chris Gayle: 3

Gautam Gambhir: 3

Sachin Tendulkar: 2

Here is list that shows the years where Kohli has crossed the 500-run mark in the IPL -

2011 - M: 16, R: 557

2013 - M: 16, R: 634

2015 - M: 16, R: 505

2016 - M: 16, R: 973

2018 - M: 12*, R: 514

Also, Kohli is the only player to score 900+ runs in single edition of the league, a record he set during the century-laden 2016 edition of the league.

As far as this season is concerned, Kohli has once again been very prolific with the bat and is one of the leading contenders for the orange cap. Currently, with 514 runs to his name, Kohli stands fifth in the charts of most runs scored in IPL 2018. Delhi Daredevils star Rishabh Pant leads the way with 582 runs thus far.

Moreover, because of his rich-scoring form, Kohli has leapfrogged Chennai Super Kings' Suresh Raina to become the leading run-getter in the history of the IPL as well. Kohli has now scored 4767 runs in 147 matches while Raina has 4544 in 158 games.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.