Diana Edulji declines BCCI's award. Do you know why?

[caption id="attachment_66180" align="aligncenter" width="580"]Diana Edulji declined to take Life Time Achievement Award Diana Edulji declined to take Life Time Achievement Award[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Diana Edulji, former Indian Women’s team skipper declined prestigious CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award as she is now a member of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) that is running Indian cricket.

In a media statement, Eduljee said: “I have learnt today that the BCCI awards committee (consisting of BCCI office-bearers and eminent journalist N Ram) has conferred the life time achievement award on me. Neither me nor any other member of the Hon’ble Supreme Court appointed Committee of Administrators were part of this awards committee.

“However, since I am a member of the Hon’ble Supreme Court appointed committee of administrators of the BCCI, I do not think it is appropriate for me to accept this honour at this juncture. I have discussed my decision with my family, friends and well-wishers who wholeheartedly support my decision not to accept the award during my tenure as a member of the COA. In fact, I had made my decision very clear last year as well when my name was suggested for this honour.

“Nevertheless, I would like to thank the Members of the BCCI awards committee for considering me worthy of this prestigious honour.”

the BCCI announced Former India batsman and Coach Anshuman Gaekwad and former opener, the late Pankaj Roy, have been recommended for the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award.

The three-member committee including CK Khanna (acting president), Amitabh Choudhary (acting hon. secretary) and N Ram (eminent journalist) have also nominated former India batter and coach Sudha Shah for the BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award (women), as well as Edulji, who declined it.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.