Vidarbha clinched their maiden Irani Cup, remained unbeaten in this season

[caption id="attachment_64330" align="aligncenter" width="580"]Vidarbha Faiz Fazal with the Irani Cup Trophy. Image Source: BCCI[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Ranji champion Vidarbha wins their maiden Irani Trophy title against the Rest of India (RoI) as a new record of  800/7d in the first innings helped them to take a first innings lead at the Vidarbha Cricket Association stadium in Nagpur.

After taking a humongous lead in the first innings Virarbha bowlers restricted the Rest of India on just 390 in the first innings. On the final day of the game, Vidarbha again batted and scored 79/0 in 26 overs and the match ended in a draw.

Ranji champions Vidarbha clinched the title because of their first innings lead thanks to a magical knock of 286 runs by veteran Indian international Wasim Jaffer, which is also the highest individual score in the history of Irani Cup.

After playing out a draw against the ROI, Vidarbha remained undefeated in this domestic season in the longest format of the game. After this win Vidarbha skipper Faiz Fazal praised his teammates for this remarkable feat.

"I am really happy that we played the match as a unit and winning the trophy is an icing on the cake. It was a big season for us and I am very happy with the way players have performed throughout the season. This was the most important game of the year and winning against the quality Rest Of India is really creditable," said Fazal during the post-match presentation.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.