It's an Indian, not a foreigner leading the race to become the KKR captain

[caption id="attachment_63728" align="aligncenter" width="580"]KKR new KKR is the two-time IPL champion. Image Source: twitter[/caption]

Kolkata: Two-time Indian Premier League champion Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is almost a new look side with only a few former players of last season. With the departure of Gautam Gambhir this season the captain’s chair is vacant this season and there are a lot of speculations about who would be the captain of KKR this season? As per a strong source there is a high possibility that experienced Indian wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik would be the captain of the side in IPL 2018. Earlier after the auction procedure it was in news that Aussie power-hitter Chris Lynn would lead the side this season as he has the experience of leading a side in Australia’s Big Bash League, but unfortunately during a T20I match against New Zealand Lynn’s shoulder was dislocated and his participation in the forthcoming season of IPL is in doubts. After that, there was a rumor that star wicket-keeper batsman Robin Uthappa might get the opportunity to lead the side.

Robin Uthappa’s name was in news after KKR CEO Venki Mysore and former India and KKR skipper said in some chat shows that there is a possibility that Uthappa would become the captain of the side. Tomorrow at 9 am, the team management will reveal the name of their new captain on the official broadcasting channel, but before that as per sources Dinesh Karthik is now ahead of becoming the captain of the side. The thing which is in favour of Karthik is that he is the most experienced cricketer in this KKR team as far as IPL is concerned. He has been the part of five franchises in IPL including KKR. He played for Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab and Gujarat Lions. Beside a specialist wicket-keeper, he is an explosive batsman as well. Karthik made a comeback in the Indian limited overs side at the age of 32 as second wicket-keeper batsman behind Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Beside Karthik, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa and Karnataka captain R Vinay Kumar are also in contention of becoming the captain of this star-studded side. Kumar led Karnataka team won Ranji Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy. Now the KKR fans will have to wait for few more hours to know who will lead the side this season.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.