India's Top 5 ODI series wins on abroad

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-16 at 5.28.52 PM

XtraTime Desk: Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team made history a couple of days back at the Port Elizabeth where they beat South Africa in the fifth ODI of the six match ODI series and took an unassailable lead of 4-1. With this win they became the very first team to win a series on Proteas soil as well. This is not the first time that an Indian side have registered a famous win at the Overseas. Here will dicuss about India’s five famous overseas series win.

#Natwest Series (2002)

Before this tri-series between England, India and Sri Lanka, the Men in Blue’s record at the overseas was really ver disappointing. In the final of the series Sourv Ganguly led Indian cricket team thumbed England at the Home of Cricket Lord’s. This win has always been regarded as the nation’s one of the most memorable ODI series wins of all time. In the big final England posted a mammoth of a total of 325 for the loss of 5 wickets thanks to two brilliant tons from skipper Nasser Hussein and Marcus Trescothik. In reply India skipper Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag gave an explosive start to the visitors. But after their dismissals the Men in Blu lost their track in the middle of the chase. After that young Yuvraj Singh and Mohammad Kaif’s heroics hand India a famous series win on English soil.

#Commonwealth Bank Series (2008)

MS Dhoni led Indian cricket team made history by winning the inaugural World T20 back in 2007. In this period of time the selectors made a lot of changes and sent quite a young team in Australia to play the Commonwealth Bank Series in 2008. During this period of time the Men in Blue had never won a tri-nation series on the Aussie soil and it was a chance for the to turn the table. In the group stages India finished second after the hosts Australia. A lot of people thought that India won’t be able to break th e jinx against the Aussies, but proving everybody wrong, the Men in Blue thumped the Aussies in two back to back finals. They won the first one by 6 wickets and second one by 9 runs. The maestro Sachin Tendukar played two crucial knocks of 117 and 91 in the finals as, MS dhoni & Co. won their very first Commonwealth Bank Trophy.

#Tri-series in West Indies (2013)

India touched the Caribbean soil in 2013 after their historic Champions Trophy campaign as they became the undefeated champions. But their journey in the Windies started with a horrific note as they lost their first two games against West Indies and Sri Lanka. They had to win the remainder of the matches with bonus points to reach the final.  They first beat the hosts with bonus points and later thumped Sri Lanka in the last league game and made it to the final where they would face the neighbours again. In the final chasing an easy target of 202 runs the Men in Blue were tottaring at 152 for 7, but skipper MS Dhoni played a magical knock like he always does as a finisher to take his side home.

#Beating England on their home soil (2014)

Ahead of this ODI series, the Men in Blue had never won a bilateral series on English soil. After loosing the 5 match Test series 1-3, nobody thought that India had a chance in the limited overs series. But proving everyone wrong after a washed out ODI in Bristol, India won back to back three ODIs. Though they lost the last ODI in Leeds but managed to win the the five match ODI series 3-1.

#Beating South Africa at their own backyard (2018)

Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team made history a couple of days back on the South African soil, as they became the very first Indian side to win a series there. The Men in Blue won the match by 73 runs at the St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth and bagged the six match ODI series 4-1 with a game left which is being played today at Centurion. After winning the toss the home side sent India to bat first, where the Men in Blue scored 271 for 7 in the alloted 50 overs, in reply the hosts managed to score just 201 runs before getting all-out. With this series win, Virat Kohli and Co. have cemented their place on the top of the ICC ODI rankings as well.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.