Gavaskar receives a rare honour on behalf of Kapil at Newlands

[caption id="attachment_62762" align="alignnone" width="580"]DSC09295 Sunil Gavaskar receiving the Membership Cards of Kapil Dev, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh and VVS Laxman at a function organised by WPCC on Wednesday. Image Source: Xtra Time[/caption]

Debasis Sen, Cape Town: Sunil Gavaskar did the ‘honour’ for Kapil Dev. The Little Master  received the Life Membership of the Western Province Cricket Club (WPCC) of his former team-mate Kapil Dev.

The World Cup-winning India captain, on Wednesday, was bestowed with the Honorary Life Membership by the WPCC and Gavaskar received Kapil’s membership.

Apart from Kapil, other former cricketers like Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag were also given the ‘rare’ honour. Gavaskar, who is here for commentary, received the membership cards on behalf of everyone.

Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid had previously received the Membership of the club. The 152-year-old Western Province Cricket institute honours only the legends of Test cricket.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Duncan De Groot, the Vice-Chairman of the Club, said, “It was decided over the years to honour the former cricketers. It is a recognition of the outstanding achievements of the former cricketers for their respective countries.”

Gavaskar said he is honoured to have stood in for others. “All those cricketers, who have received the memberships, have been great ambassadors of the game for India. I am honoured to have received the membership which is like the MCC (Maryleborne Cricket Club),” the former India captain said.

A total of 51 former cricketers have received the Life Membership. Don Bradman, Vivian Richards, Clive Lloyd and Alan Border are some of the legends to have been honoured by the club.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.