Cricket

5 moments when a no-ball cost India a game

28052521_1790136231005340_274299804_n

Internet Desk: In the modern day cricket, a lot of people feel that it’s a crime to bowl a no ball, as it could cost the match for the bowling side. We all saw in the fourth ODI against South Africa back in Johannesburg a couple of days back that India’s ace leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal clean bowled David Miller but it was a no ball.

After getting a lucky escape, the South Africa power hitter played a magical knock against the Men in Blu and it helped the hosts to win the Pink Day ODI.

Here we will talk about five such moments when a no-ball cost India the match in recent times:

2016 World T20 semifinal – Ravichandran Ashwin vs West Indies

India posted a massive total of 192 runs board in front of West Indies and they were on the driver’s seat to reach the final of World T20 for the second consecutive times.

The Men in Blue were on top against the Windies after Jasprit Bumrah sent Caribbean maestro Chris Gayle back to the pavilion in the very first over. After that India’s ace off-spinner Ravi Ashwin took the wicket of  Lendl Simmons who was only on 18 on that time. The Indian cricket team started their celebration but the on-filed umpire stopped Simmons to check whether it was a no ball or not. The third umpire confirmed that Ashwin did overstep and Simmons survived. After that, Simmons played a knock of 82 runs as the Windies thumped India to reach the final of the tournament.

2016 World T20 semifinal – Hardik Pandya vs West Indies

In the same semi-final game against India, Simmons got another lifeline when he was on 50. This time India’s star all-rounder Hardik Pandya was the culprit for doing a no ball.

2017, 1st ODI at Dharamsala- Jaspreet Bumrah vs Sri Lanka

It was first the first match of Rohit Sharma as captain. Last year India were all-out on just 112 during the fist ODI at Dharamsala against Sri Lanka. In reply, the visitors were in deep trouble after losing two crucial wickets. In this time, India’s speedster Jasprit Bumrah took the wicket of Upul Tharanga, but it was given as a no ball by the umpire. Later the Lankans won the game with a knock great 49 runs knock from Tharanga.

2017 ICC Champions Trophy final- Jasprit Bumrah vs Pakistan

In the final of the ICC Champions Trophy last year defending champions India faced arch rival Pakistan. Earlier in the Pakistan innings, Bumrah took the wicket of their opener Fakhar Zaman but unfortunately it was a no ball and Zaman got a second chance. The Pakistan opener capitalized the chance and went on to score a ton which helped Pakistan to win their maiden Champions Trophy crown.

2018, 4th ODI at Johannesburg- Yuzvendra Chahal vs South Africa

The last inductee in the list is Yuzvendra Chahal who clean bowled Proteas star left hand batsman David Miller but unfortunately it was adjudged as a no ball as he overstepped and Miller get a second chance and took the game away from India to win the Pink Day ODI match.

About Web Master

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.