Team for South Africa tour to be picked on December 04

Debasis Sen, Delhi:
The Indian team for the forthcoming tour to South Africa will be picked in the capital on December 04. It is learnt that the team management has requested the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to send 18 member team. But the selectors are undecided whether to pick 17 or 18 member squad. Normally on overseas tours 16 member team is picked.

The likely 17 member comprise of 3 openers, 5 middle order batsmen, 4 medium pacers, 2 wicket-keepers, 3 spinners and 1 all rounder.

The focus will be on the bowling department as the selectors are undecided to send 3 spinners or not. Medium pacers Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma should be an automatic choice. Hardik Pandya will be the lone all rounder. Off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are guaranteed of a place in the squad. If the selectors feel the need of an extra spinner then either Kuldeep Yadav or Yuzuvendra Chahal will be selected.

As far as batting order is concerned there will be no surprises. Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul will form the opener’s slot. Middle order looks almost settled with captain Virat Kohli, Chetshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma picking themselves automatically. Wriddhiman Saha and Parthiv Patel will be the two wicket-keepers.

The Test series, first of the long away season for India, will start from January 2 to January 28 next year. Three Test matches between the Proteas and the Indian team will be played at Newlands, Cape Town (January 5 to 9), Centurion (January 13-17) and The Wanderers, Johannesburg (January 24-28).

Last time India toured South Africa in 2013/14 they were beaten 1-0 in the two-match Test series.

Squad (Likely):

Openers – Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay & KL Rahul

Middle order batsmen – Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane & Rohit Sharma  

All – rounder – Hardik Pandya

Spinners – Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja , Kuldeep Yadav/Yuzuvendra Chawla

Medium Pacers – Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav & Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Wicket-keepers – Wriddhiman Saha & Parthiv Patel


About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.