Abhishek Gupta

This is how Lankans are preparing themselves ahead of the first Test

[caption id="attachment_57879" align="aligncenter" width="580"]DSC_2508 Sri Lanka team in a practice session at the Jadavpur University second campus ground. Image Source: XtraTime[/caption]

Kolkata: Dinesh Chandimal led Sri Lankan cricket team would want to start their campaign in India on a high note when they will face Board President's XI in a two-day practice match in Kolkata from tomorrow.

The Lankans who will play a Test in India after 2009-2010 are yet to win any Test match on Indian soil. In their 16 appearances in India they have faced 10 defeats in the head-to-head record with the host nation.

With skipper Dinesh Chandimal who will play his maiden Test against the host nation on their home soil, the visitors would be looking forward to win their first Test in India. The experience of veterans Angelo Mathews and Rangana Herath would be the key too. In their last visit during 2009-10 they lost the series 0-2.

The visitors faced a humiliating 0-9 loss on their home soil in all three formats of the game against Virat Kohli & Co. couple of months back, but they would be high on confidence before facing the World No.1 Test side again as they beat Pakistan 2-0 in UAE last month.

The Lankans will play three Tests and as many ODIs and T20Is in the long series concluding in Mumbai on December 24.

Chandimal and Co. will hope to start well against a third-string Board's side led by Sanju Samson.

The match is scheduled at the Jadavpur University second campus ground, the deck of which primarily supports seam bowling.

Having recovered from a calf muscle injury, Mathews was in full flow in their first practice here as he will look to get into rhythm ahead of the first Test at Eden Gardens from November 16-20.

Having bagged 16 wickets against Pakistan, senior-most spinner Rangana Herath will eye a rich haul here as he will lead the spin department.

Chandimal also has a century against Pakistan while Dickwella was their third leading run-getter in Abu Dhabi with two half-centuries.

The Board squad has in-form Punjab youngster Anmolpreet Singh, who scored a career-best 267 in the last round Ranji Trophy match against Chhattisgarh. He was drafted in after Naman Ojha, who was originally named captain, was ruled out due to an injury.


Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne (vice- captain), Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dasun Shanaka and Roshen Silva.

Board President's XI: Sanju Samson (c), Abhishek Gupta, Akash Bhandari, Avesh Khan, Jalaj Saxena, Jiwanjot Singh, Ravi Kiran, Rohan Prem, B Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Sandeep Warrier, and Anmolpreet Singh.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.