Anustup Majumder

Ranji Trophy: Dinda shines, Bengal in the driver's seat against Goa


Kolkata: Ashoke Dinda scalped three wickets as Goa is tottering at 191/5 after Bengal finished their innings 379 on Day 2 of their Group D Ranji Trophy encounter at Eden Gardens today.

B.Amit provided Bengal breakthrough after Goa started off cautiously removing Sumiran Amonkar cheaply,while Prathamesh Gawas edged to first slip off Kanishk Seth, leaving the visitor at 42/2.

The visitors showed resistance but could not convert those partnerships into big one as Bengal bowlers picked up wickets at regular interval.Dinda uprooted Darshan Misal stumps before he removed Swapnil Asnodkar, Snehal Kauthankar. Amogh Desai and Keenan ensured the visitors signed off the day without losing further wickets adding 61 runs for 6th wicket. Desai remained unbeaten on 53, while Keenan accompanied him on 40. However, Desai was lucky as he was dropped once on 41 and Dinda could not judge a catch on 43.

However, old-horse Dinda anchored the Bengal bowling unit by picking up 3 wickets in his 15 overs giving away 41 runs. B.Amit and Kanishk Seth bowled well and registered their names against wicket-column picking up a wicket each.

Earlier, resuming the day at 305/5, Writtick Chatterjee smashed boundaries before he was cleaned up by Garg on 28,adding 22 runs to overnight Bengal total. The all-rounder expected the delivery to go outward while the ball it line and went through his bat-pad. Bengal faced a major setback when Parab claimed two wickets in consecutive deliveries in 96th over.

While, Amogh Desai took a brilliant catch at gully to dismiss B.Amit; Kanishk Seth got trapped infront of the wicket,leaving Bengal at 356/8. A gritty innings of 284 minutes came to end when Anustup top-edged a rising delivery to get dismissed on 119 off 208 deliveries. Ashoke Dinda(16) rolled his bat to deposit the ball twice into tje stand as Bengal finished their innings at 379.Bengal added 74 runs and lost half of the side today.
Garg turned out to be the most succesful bowler of the visitors scalping four wickets;while Parab, Alemao, Pandrekar picked up two wickets each.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.