Akshar Patel

Kohli on top, ranking boost for bowlers as well in T20I

[caption id="attachment_57742" align="aligncenter" width="580"]kohli Kohli is holding the top spot in ICC T20I rankings for batsmen. Image Source: ICC[/caption]

Internet Desk: India skipper Virat Kohli is still holding the top spot in rankings on the other hand star opening duo of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have moved up in the latest ICC T20I Player Rankings released on Wednesday.

Kohli scored 104 runs in three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka where India won the series by 2-1 which helped him to cement his spot at the top of the table. The India skipper got 13 points to increase the gap between him and Aussie opener Aaron Finch to 40 points.

The Indian openers Rohit and Dhawan slammed 93 and 87 runs respectively in the three-match series moved up three places to 21st and 20 places to 45th respectively.

The Indian bowlers have also gained points in bowlers rankings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (up two places to 26th), leg- spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (up 22 places to 30th) and left-arm spinner Akshar Patel (up 17 places to 62nd).

In the ICC T20I Team Rankings, India have gained three points from the series but remain behind England on decimal points, in fifth place.

New Zealand, however, have ceded the top place to Pakistan (124) after they slipped from 125 to 120 points, following their 1-2 loss in the series.

New Zealand bowlers Ish Sodhi and Trent Boult have made noteworthy gains in the ICC T20I Player Rankings.

Sodhi’s five wickets in the series have lifted him five places to the top-10 for the first time in his career.

Left-arm pace bowler Boult, who grabbed six wickets including a haul of four for 34 in the second match in Rajkot which his side won by 40 runs, has reached a career-best 16th position after moving up 14 slots.

Tim Southee (up five places to 81st) is another New Zealand bowler to move up while opener Colin Munro is a major gainer among batsmen.

Munro has gained four places to reach 12th position after scoring 123 runs in the series including an unbeaten 109 in Rajkot.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.