India thrashes Sri Lanka by an innings and 239 runs to go 1-0 up in series at Nagpur

[caption id="attachment_58858" align="alignnone" width="580"]India Victorious India team after their win against Sri Lanka in the second test match at Nagpur. Image Source: twitter@icc[/caption]

Internet Desk: India registered an emphatic win by innings and 239 runs over Sri Lanka in the second test match at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Jamtha. The visitors were bundled out for 166 runs in the second innings post lunch to give the hosts a 1-0 lead in the three match test series. The win today also equals the highest margin of win in a test match for India.
The victory margin was identical to India s Test victory against Bangladesh at Mirpur in 2007 when Rahul Dravid was captain.
Ravichandran Ashwin bowled Lahiru Gamage to become the fastest bowler to take 300 wickets. The Off-spinner reached the milestone in 54 tests beating Dennis Lillee’s previous record of 56 matches.

The Lankans started Day 4, still needing 384 runs. They required to bat five sessions to save the test match but meekly surrendered against the Indian bowlers. Skipper Dinesh Chandimal (61) fought a lone battle in the middle as wickets kept tumbling at the other end. Yesterday, India had declared their first innings at 610 for six, taking a massive 405-run lead.
Former Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews played an irresponsible shot to bring his downfall. Having hit Jadeja for a six over long-on, he tried the same shot over long-off but failed to clear Rohit Sharma at mid-off. The former skipper is a pale shadow of his self and questions have been raised about his form and commitment which has been hurting Lankan cricket for some time now. Mathews used to look a fine player when Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara were around but post their retirement; he has not been able to find his mojo.
The Sri Lankan cricket had expected Mathews to carry on the legacy of Mahela and Sangakkara but over the past two years, he has failed miserably with no significant contribution in Sri Lankan victory.

Brief scores:

Sri Lanka: 205 & 166 (Dinesh Chandimal 61, Lahiru Thirimanne 23; R Ashwin 4/63, Ravindra Jadeja 2/28, Ishant Sharma 2/43).
India (1st innings): 610/6 in 176.1 overs (Virat Kohli 213, Cheteshwar Pujara 143, Murali Vijay 128, Rohit Sharma 102 not out; Dilruwan Perera 3/202).

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.