Axar Patel

IND vs NZ 2017: Major changes in India's ODI squad against New Zealand

[caption id="attachment_54926" align="aligncenter" width="580"]india--celebration-05 India to play three-match ODI series against New Zealand. File Pic[/caption]

Internet Desk: Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik and young Shardul Thakur were named in India’s three-match ODI squad against New Zealand. The selectors yet again have ignored India’s ace spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra jadeja.

Shikhar Dhawan too has made a return to the ODI squad who was not in the team against Australia due to his wife’s poor health. Though he was a part of T20 series against the Aussies.

Karthik, who last played for India during the West Indies tour in July and was also a part of the Champions Trophy squad, has been picked again.

The 32-year-old was named in the India T20 squad for the recently-concluded Australia series but did not get a game.

Speedster Thakur was ignored for the series against Australia after playing in Sri Lanka. Now, he has been picked in place of Umesh Yadav, who has been dropped. Star pacer from Bengal Mohammed Shami too was not picked for the series.

Notable names missing from the squad are of batsman K L Rahul, Ashwin and Jadeja. The spin duo has not played for India since the Test series in Sri Lanka two months ago.

Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel are the three specialist spinners in their absence.

Ashwin and Jadeja are currently playing the Ranji Trophy for their respective states and the former had even cleared the yo-yo fitness test.

The Team: 

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.