IND vs AUS 2017: India desperate for a win in the series-decider

[caption id="attachment_56239" align="aligncenter" width="580"]DLviyJ0V4AEs0We India will face Australia in the T20 series decider at Hyderabad tomorrow. Image Source: BCCI[/caption]

Internet Desk: Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team will be aiming to bounce back against a resurgent Australia when both the sides face each other in the series-decider third and final ODI at Hyderabad tomorrow. The series is currently tied on 1-1.

After winning the ODI series comfortably with a 4-1 margin, the hosts bagged the first T20 with an ease but in the second T20I at Guwahati they faced a shocking defeat against the Aussies by 8 wickets.

Though India have played really well against Australia, skipper Virat Kohli has said that the Aussies are always very tough to beat.

After a thumping 8-wicket win over the hosts, David Warner & Co. would be eyeing to seal the T20 series tomorrow.

Rookie, Jason Behrendorff took 4 wickets at Guwahati to give his side a much needed win in the T20 series. Captain Kohli was out for a rare duck and he, along with the rest of the batting line-up, would be eager to make amends.

India's new ball bowlers did alright in Guwahati but wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav were taken to the cleaners by Moises Henriques and Travis Head, who shared a match-winning partnership of 109.

Yadav especially bowled either too short or too full and the set batsmen did not have any difficulty in punishing the loose balls.

However, the dew proved to be a factor with the ball not turning much in the Australian innings.

Despite the hammering the spinners received, it is unlikely that Kohli will make a change and bring in Axar Patel.

Similar is the case in the pace department which means veteran Ashish Nehra, who is set to announce his retirement in the next series, will sit out again.

Australia did pull one back in the ODI series before eventually losing it 1-4. But the way they played on Tuesday, the same resolve and purpose was missing from their body language in the earlier games.

David Warner has done well in the absence of regular captain Steve Smith, making optimum use of the resources at his disposal.

Behrendorff made his job easier with a spectacular spell of swing bowling before Henriques rose to the occasion after being promoted to number three in the batting order.

Leggie Adam Zampa too played his part well with a twin strike in the middle overs and he would be expected to do the same tomorrow.

While Warner has led effectively, he would surely love to be back among the runs after failing in the earlier two games.

The pitch at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium is usually good for batting and fans will be expecting a run feast after the low-scoring affair on a damp pitch in Guwahati.

Though it has been a regular venue in the IPL, it will be the first time that a T20 International will be played here.

There are chances of rain as well with the weathermen expecting the ongoing spell to last till October 20.

Teams (from)

India: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ashish Nehra, Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul and Axar Patel.

Australia: David Warner (c), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.