Career of Pragyan Ojha is under serious threat. Find out how?

[caption id="attachment_6225" align="aligncenter" width="580"]Manoj-Tiwary-with-Pragyan-O Pragyan Ojha with Bengal cricket team skipper Manoj Tiwary. File Pic[/caption]

Kolkata: The first class career of India cricketer Pragyan Ojha looks to be under serious threat as the Bengal selectors neglected the left arm spinner for the first two Ranji matches on Tuesday. Manoj Tiwary and his team will start their Ranji campaign against Services at Palam Air Force Ground from October 06-09. Bengal will play their next match against Chhattisgarh in Raipur from October 14-17.

Selectors Arup Bhattacharya, Madan Ghosh and Kalyan Chowdhury in discussion with CAB secretary Avishek Dalmiya picked the team for the first two matches. Captain Manoj Tiwary and Selection Committee Chairman Debang Gandhi shared their views over conference call.

The squad looks balanced with a good mixture of youngsters and experience.

But the most notable omission from the squad is Pragyan Ojha. The left arm spinner has been conspicuously missing ever since he had requested the CAB to give him the NOC to play for his own state Hyderabad.

Talking about Pragyan’s omission in the squad, selector Arup Bhattacharya said, “We are in total darkness about Pragyan. We do not know whether he is training or not and what condition he is now. He has not contacted anyone of us as well.”

The selectors have picked left arm spinner Pradipta Pramanik in place of Pragyan. Promising left arm pacer Kanishk Seth has also been named in the squad along with B. Amit, Mukesh Kumar, Sayan Ghosh and Ashoke Dinda. The batting seems to be the strength of the side with captain Manoj Tiwary, Sudip Chatterjee, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhimanyu Easwaran, and Anustup Majumder.

Bengal team (for first two matches in Ranji Trophy)

Manoj Tiwary, Sudip Chatterjee, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sreevats Goswami, Anustup Majumder, Abhishek Raman, Koushik Ghosh, Aamir Gani, Pradipta Pramanik, Ashoke Dinda, Sayan Ghosh, Mukesh Kumar, Kanishk Seth, B. Amit and Writtick Chatterjee

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.