2018 FIFA WC

2018 FIFA WC: Germany announces their squad, Low criticized for leaving out another star attacker

XtraTime Web Desk:
Germany coach Joachim Low receives some serious criticism, as he left another superstar out of his team in his final 23-men squad for Russia. Man City starlet Leroy Sane is now the shock omission from Germany's 23-man squad for the World Cup.

Sane, the Premier League Young Player of the Year, was expected to made the final squad but was left out, with Hertha Berlin defender Marvin Plattenhardt surviving the cut.

Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer is included after making his long-awaited comeback from injury in Saturday's 2-1 defeat to Austria, his first game since September having been ruled out for eight months with Bayern Munich due to metatarsal injuries.

The Germany captain is now set to lead out the holders in their first match against Mexico in Moscow on June 17. Before the game against Austria, he last featured for the national team in a 2-0 defeat of Northern Ireland on Oct. 11, 2016.

Bayer Leverkusen keeper Bernd Leno has already left the training camp while Barcelona keeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Paris-Saint Germain's Kevin Trapp will travel to Russia as backups for Neuer.

Low said that Neuer's performance against Austria "was a good comeback after such a long time."

Germany are without a win in five matches, their longest run since 1987-88.

Germany's 23-man World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach), Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin)

Midfielders: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern Munich), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen)

Forwards: Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Mario Gomez (Stuttgart)


About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.