2018 FIFA WC: France gets a crucial goal against Australia using 'VAR'

[caption id="attachment_68310" align="aligncenter" width="580"] VAR used in the World Cup for the first time[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Video Assistant Referee is being used for the first time in the match where France faced Australia in their first match of 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Antoine Griezmann was running through on goal before he was seemingly caught on the heel as he entered the penalty area by Josh Risdon’s outstretched leg.

Initially, the referee Andres Cunha allowed play to continue before he suddenly stopped the game after receiving an alert in his ear that he should look at the replays on the pitch-side monitor.

After watching the replay three or four times Cunha decided to make history by using VAR to award a penalty for the first time ever. Antoine Griezmann stepped up and thumped the resulting penalty into the corner of the net.

It is the second time VAR has been used in two days after it was first used to check Diego Costa’s opener against Portugal on Friday night. That decision was upheld, and the goal was given, but Griezmann’s was the first time the technology has been used to actually overturn the decision.

The replay looked like it was the correct call and it is another small victory for VAR at this tournament.

France won the match 2-1 as Paul Pagba scored the late equaliser. Earlier, Antoine Griezmann put France ahead but Jedinak scored the equaliser.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.