Alberto Tarantini

FIFA World Cup 2018: The official Trophy Tour takes World Cup winning Argentine legends to down memory lane

[caption id="attachment_33744" align="aligncenter" width="580"]FIFA FIFA World Cup official Trophy went to Argentina[/caption]


XtraTime Web Desk: A sweet recapitulation of some wonderful memories. Those golden days seemed to be back alive again, as the FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour reunited the World Cup winning Argentine legends of 1978 and 1986.

The FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour by Coca-Cola recently made stops in five cities throughout Argentina: Berazategui, Buenos Aires, Rosario, Tilcara, and Tucuman.

A total of 13 World Cup winners from the Argentina sides that won the 1978 and 1986 editions were reunited with the Trophy: Mario Kempes, Ricardo Daniel Bertoni, Ubaldo Fillol, Alberto Tarantini, and Ricardo Julio Villa from 1978 - Sergio Batista, Jorge Burruchaga, Hector Enrique, Oscar Garre, Ricardo Giusti, Julio Olarticoechea, Nery Pumpidoy, and Carlos Daniel Tapia from 1986.

"It is more than just a Trophy, it represents all the challenges and shared experiences of our team coming together to achieve something very special in winning the FIFA World Cup," Kempes said.

The members present from those 1978 and 1986 championship squads and their families came together for a press conference at the Argentina Football Association's headquarters and enjoyed their time at the fan experience in Buenos Aires on 31 March.

It was also in Buenos Aires that another World Cup champion joined the festivities in the shape of 1998 winner with France and FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour Ambassador David Trezeguet, who grew up in the city.

The tour took a special stop in the small Andes village of Tilcara on 27 March. Leading up to the 1986 World Cup, the Argentinian team held a training camp in the town, in order to prepare for the high altitudes they would encounter in Mexico. The team trained with local footballers to help them prepare and promised them that they would return the Trophy to Tilcara, should they be victorious.

Thirty-two years later, they fulfilled that promise, as eight champions from the '86-winning side brought the Trophy to the village, where they met up with the locals they trained with all the way back in 1986.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.