Steve Smith, David Warner face 12 months ban from Cricket Australia

[caption id="attachment_64608" align="aligncenter" width="580"]Smith and Warner Steve Smith and David Warner won't feature the national side for next 1 year. Image Source: twitter[/caption]

XtraTime Web Desk: Star Australian batsman Steve Smith and David Warner have been banned for 12 months today after they got involved in the Cape Town ball-tampering scandal.

Aussie opener Cameron Bancroft who was the third member of this trio, who did try to change the ball condition at Newlands, has also been banned for nine months as well.

Yesterday, CA chief executive James Sutherland revealed the trio of Smith, Warner and Bancroft were the only members of Australia’s touring party – players or support staff – who had any knowledge of the plan to deliberately alter the condition of the ball.

Smith, Warner and Bancroft were found to have breached article 2.3.5 of the CA Code of Conduct, which relates to conduct at any time that is contrary to the spirit of the game, unbecoming of a representative, harmful to the interests of the game, or bringing the game into disrepute.

Steve Smith, who was replaced as captain of IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals last week, won’t feature in the cash rich league after his ban. Same goes for David Warner, who today stepped down as captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad before the decision of Cricket Australia made official.

After knowing the decision from Cricket Australia BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said both the Aussie cricketers won’t be a part of IPL 2018. Indian Premier League Commissioner Rajiv Shukla assured that both Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad will get replacements of these players.” The franchises will get replacements for the players as they will not be allowed to play this year,” said Shukla.

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.