Ashes 2017-18

Ashes 2017: Warner, Bancroft opening stand puts Australia in command at Gabba

[caption id="attachment_58811" align="alignnone" width="580"]Warner-and-Bancroft Australian openers David Warner and Cameron Bancroft shared an unbeaten century partnership to take Australia closer to a win in the first Ashes test at Gabba. Image Source: twitter@icc[/caption]

Internet Desk: A superb unbeaten opening stand from David Warner (60*) and debutant Cameron Bancroft (51*) took Australia closer to taking a 1-0 lead in the Ashes series at Gabba. The hosts chasing 170 runs are 114/0 at stumps, requiring just 56 runs to win the first test match.  Resuming at 33/2 with Mark Stoneman batting on 19 and Captain Joe Root on 5, England middle order stumbled against the bowling of Nathan Lyon (3/67), Josh Hazlewood (3/46) and Mitchell Starc (3/51).

Lyon, who picked up his 50th wicket of the calendar year, accounted for Stoneman (27), Dawid Malan (4) and Moeen Ali (40) while Hazlewood was brilliant to get rid of the dangerous Root (51). He also sent Alastair Cook (7) and James Vince (2) back in the but on Saturday evening to reduce the tourists to 17/2.

The visitors lost their final six wickets for a mere 56 runs, highlighting the absence of star all rounder Ben Stokes.

Moeen Ali and wicketkeeper batsman Jonny Bairstow tried to stem the rot for a 42-run sixth wicket stand before Moeen Ali was beaten by a flight from Lyon, to find his stumps broken by wicketkeeper Tim Paine. It was a controversial decision as the television footage was not conclusive.

At the other end, Bairstow ramped a short outside off Starc delivery to Peter Handscomb at third man. Chris Woakes (17), Stuart Broad (2), Jake Ball (1) and James Anderson (0 not out) could not add much as England were all out for just 195 on the board.


Brief scores:

England first innings 302 & 195 (Joe Root 51; Nathan Lyon 3/67, Josh Hazlewood 3/46, Mitchell Starc 3/51);

Australia 114/0 (Cameron Bancroft 51 batting, David Warner 60 batting).

About Web Master


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.